Urban Outfitters Swaps Sites


Edgy Linen Edition

CFDA Award Nominees Announced

There are few surprises to be found in the CFDA Award Nominees for 2010. It's not that the nominees aren't worthy. They have all shown impressive collections during the past year, but some of them are sooo familiar. Perhaps it's time to expand the number of nominees in the main award categories since Marc Jacobs is once again recognized for Womenswear and Accessory Designer of the Year, and Alexander Wang, last year's new designer winner, has been promoted to the top category as well as being nominated as a new accessory designer. That leaves room for just one more, and it's actually nice surprise to see Donna Karan (a winner in 1996 and 1990, though lately taken a bit for granted) given a nod for her impressive return to top form. We think that the field is broad enough to recognize at least two more American women's and men's designers. After all, isn't that who these awards are meant to promote?
A full list of the nominees and special award winners:
Womenswear Designer of the Year-
Donna Karan, Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang
Menswear Designer of the Year-
Tom Ford, Michael Bastian, David Neville & Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone
Accessory Designer of the Year-
Marc Jacobs, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler, Alexis Bittar
Swarovski Award for Womenswear-
Prabal Gurung, Joseph Altuzarra, Jason Wu
Swarovski Award for Menswear-
Simon Spurr, Patrik Ervell, Richard Chai
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design-
Dana Lorenz, Alexander Wang, Eddie Borgo

Eugenia Sheppard Award- Kim Hastreiter, Editor in Chief and publisher of Paper Magazine
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award- Michael Kors
International Award- Christopher Bailey, Chief Creative Officer of Burberry 
Board of Directors’ Special Tribute- Alexander McQueen
Eleanor Lambert Award- Tonne Goodman
Fashion Icon Award- Iman
The CFDA Awards will be presented on June 7th at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center.


The comments to this entry are closed.